DENVER ASSAULT LAWYER

Denver assault attorney

An assault charge in Denver is a serious matter, and a conviction can have severe and lasting consequences, possibly including jail time. If you’ve been charged with assault, you may not be a bad person, but you are in a bad situation. Hiring an experienced Denver assault attorney is your best option – really your only option – for effectively protecting your freedom and safeguarding your future.

Denver assault attorney, Daniel M. Murphy, has 19 years of experience defending those accused of aggression. He understands your situation and creates an effective defense that considers the circumstances of your case and your overall character. You can count on, Denver assault attorney, Daniel M. Murphy to put you in the best possible position for a favorable outcome to your case. Dan can help you with assault charges related to bar fights, domestic quarrels, disputes with neighbors, and more.

ASSAULT CHARGES IN DENVER

Several kinds of assault charges are recognized by Denver law. Each is distinct, but all are taken seriously by law enforcement and courts in the state of Colorado. If you are facing any of these charges, seek representation from a criminal defense attorney with knowledge of the Denver assault laws and court system.

Generally, First Degree Assault is a Class-3 or a Class-5 felony. This charge is considered a Class-5 felony when it is committed in the heat of the moment. First Degree Assault is defined as causing serious bodily injury, disfigurement, or permanent disability to any person by using a deadly weapon while intending to cause serious bodily injury, disfigurement, or permanent disability; or using a deadly weapon to threaten a peace officer, firefighter, judge, or officer of the court who is acting in his or her official duties, with the intent to cause serious bodily injury.

A Class-3 felony charge of First Degree Assault has severe penalties, including a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years in prison and a maximum sentence of 32 years.

Second Degree Assault can be a Class-3 felony, a Class-4 felony, or a Class-6 felony. Second Degree Assault is defined as causing bodily injury to another by using a deadly weapon with intent to cause bodily injury; or causing bodily injury to any person whom the suspect knows, or should know, is a peace officer or firefighter performing a lawful duty; or intentionally causing physical or mental impairment by administering to another, without consent, a drug or substance capable of causing physical or mental impairment.

Because Second Degree Assault is considered a violent crime, the penalties can be severe. A class-4 felony charge of Second Degree Assault, for example, may be punishable by a prison sentence of between five and 16 years.

Third Degree Assault is the least serious of aggression charges, however it is the most commonly charged, frequently occurring in domestic violence or minor disputes. The Colorado law states that a person commits Third Degree Assault if the person knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person. This type of assault does not include an actual intent to harm someone, and even reckless behavior that causes minor pain with no serious injury can be considered Third Degree Assault. Third Degree Assault is a class-1 misdemeanor, and if you are convicted, you may face up to two years in jail because it is considered an extraordinary risk crime.

Assault charges in Denver can also include Vehicular Assault, Sexual Assault, Assault with a Deadly Weapon, Assaulting a Police Officer, Aggravated Assault, Domestic Assault, Municipal Assault and Sexual Assault on a Child. A conviction will stay on your record, and as a result, you may find it difficult to secure employment or housing. Criminal defense lawyers like Dan Murphy can review the facts of your case and develop a strong defense strategy to help you achieve the best possible outcome.

DEFENSES AGAINST ASSAULT CHARGES

One of the most common defenses in assault cases is self-defense or the defense of others. Depending on the circumstances of your case, an attorney may be able to argue that you were protecting yourself or another person from harm and therefore cannot be found guilty of assault.

Skilled attorneys may also try to prove that you did not have the intent required by law to be charged with first or second-degree assault, meaning your actions were not meant to harm anyone.

Second degree assault charges can be dropped down to a class-6 felony if the crime was committed in the “heat of passion.” This means that your attorney may attempt to argue that you committed the crime in the heat of the moment in order to lessen the charge against you and the penalties that you face.

If you have been charged with third degree assault, the circumstances are different because the intent to harm is not required under law, and the person does not need to have suffered serious bodily injury. In these cases, your best defense may be that you never touched the person, or that if you did, it was not knowingly or recklessly. Similar to other assault charges, you may also argue that you were acting in self-defense or defense of others with a third degree assault charge.

Don’t hesitate to contact a Denver criminal defense attorney as soon as possible after you are charged with assault. An attorney will be able to defend your legal rights, investigate the case and form a solid defense strategy on your behalf. Dan Murphy has experience defending clients against assault, child abuse, harassment, theft, marijuana possession, drug crimes, and weapons charges. If you are facing assault charges, contact Dan Murphy, an experienced Denver assault attorney as soon as possible after an arrest in Denver County.

HIRE A DENVER ASSAULT ATTORNEY

Denver, Colorado criminal lawyer

If you’re being charged for assault anywhere in the greater Denver area, or if you’re under suspicion, don’t wait to talk to a criminal defense lawyer and ask for legal advice. Now is the time to get the legal assistance you’re going to need. By evaluating the evidence and offering your side of the incident, an experienced Denver assault attorney may even be able to stop a formal criminal charge from being filed. If you have already been charged, Denver assault attorney Dan Murphy will provide an aggressive defense and will work to resolve your case as quickly as possible. This may sometimes involve a deal or a plea agreement, or it may even require going to trial. Dan will work with you on the best way to achieve your best possible result. Please schedule a free consultation with Dan Murphy at his downtown Denver office by filling out the form on this website or by calling 303-996-8998. His law office is conveniently located on East 7th Avenue, two blocks east of Broadway. Free parking is always available. Payment plans are available for legal services.